Hiking with Chezwick

June 17 2015

IMG_4583

 

When I got back to trail there was magic happening at the road crossing. And sitting there in a lawn chair, sunglasses on, great big mischievous smile, was none other than Chezwick.

He and I always found each other this way. Me catching up and him sitting there eating or drinking something. He was always taking it easy. We hiked out together. Chezwick and I killed a little time searching for an old mining rig in the woods. Gigi told me about it, but all we found was some good conversation.

We hiked on to the next shelter and decided to stay the night. This is where I met earth.

Earth was a strong personality. He stepped out of the shelter in his underwear and in a thick German accent proclaimed, “It’s a man’s world!” He and I had an extended conversation about the meaning of the novel Metropolis as I was leaving it at the shelter in exchange for a terrible feminist novel.

I decided to camp out in my broken tent with Chezwick and Clarity. Later in the evening Bloop Bleep and Silent Force walked into camp. I was so surprised that I fell over while hanging my bear bag.

 

One comment

  1. “Earth was a strong personality. He stepped out of the shelter in his underwear and in a thick German accent…”

    This made me laugh pretty hard…strangely, it reminds me of my first encounter with him in MA.What a guy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

