Saying Goodbye

July 22 2015

Today we hiked down to the road. Flask and I hitch hiked to town in a convertible. We went out for Pizza and beer and followed it out with ice cream. Chezwick was somewhere in town but we never saw him. I said goodbye to No-one because I was planning on taking a few days off in town. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen. I wanted to wait a few days to see how my leg would heal.

I spent the next week off trail desperately trying to heal myself enough to continue walking.

Trail Log:

Hit the Long Trail today. I feel terrible and I am falling behind. Where will I fall off?

Lots of mud so far from all the feet marching along. It isn’t really muddier here, there are just more people on the two trails. Heavy traffic for the next few weeks, this is going to be the hardest time. I hope the pain subsides. I’ve never felt such a desperation to be well and back to normal. I just want to hike, but I can’t. I’ve never felt pain like this in my life.

One comment

  1. Remember that realising your limits isn’t quitting. Better to stop, and get well than carry on and potentially do yourself permanent damage. I did that myself; I had a bad fall on a hike last September, ignored it and now I have permanent damage to my right arm (I can only lift it so high, and it gets twinges of pain if I try to put too much weight on it)

    Like

Leave a Reply

